Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
South Central Kansas Library System (SCKLS) has a governance structure in accordance with K.S.A. 75-2550 that includes elected and appointed representatives comprising a 170 member System Board, 13 member Executive Committee, 12 County Appointees and SCKLS Director working cooperatively to sustain and develop public, academic, school, and special library services for citizens and students in our 12 county service area.

Our Governing Body Defined

The governing body of the South Central Kansas Library System is the System Board. The System Board consists of one representative appointed by the governing body or administrator of each participating public, academic, school, and special library along with the Executive Committee as well as County Appointees from Barber, Butler, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, McPherson, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick, Stafford and Sumner counties.

In addition, the System Board elects an Executive Committee that meets monthly and is responsible for financial oversight, program  review and policy guidance for SCKLS. The Executive Committee consists of a total of 13 members. The Executive Committee as specified in K.S.A. 75-2550a, shall have authority to:

  • Set policy 
  • Perform legal functions 
  • Hire a System Director 
  • Conduct system business monthly 

Administrative responsibilities related to the Executive Committee are delegated to the SCKLS Director.  SCKLS welcomes your interest in our governance process.  If you would like to serve on the Executive Committee, positions, terms of office, election and other eligibility requirements are set forth in the SCKLS Bylaws.  If you have questions or need information, please contact SCKLS Director Paul Hawkins.

Stay Connected